Executive Order (Issued on Jan. 27, 2017) Summarized

Executive Order (Issued on Jan. 27, 2017)
Protecting the Nation from Foreign Terrorist Entry into the United States

-       Prohibits entry temporarily (for 90 days) for immigrants and non-immigrants from seven countries: Iraq, Iran, Sudan, Libya, Yemen, Somalia and Syria;

o   Please note after the 90 period, you should expect that individuals from these countries may face a heightened level of vetting before being issued U.S. visas or being admitted to the U.S; and

o   Permanent Residents of the U.S. (Green Card holders) were initially affected by this prohibition, but Department of Homeland Security has since clarified that this Executive Order will not impact the ability of Permanent Residents to enter the U.S., however, Permanent Residents from these seven countries may face additional scrutiny.

-       USCIS has suspend adjudication of certain filings for citizens of Iraq, Iran, Sudan, Libya, Yemen, Somalia and Syria;

-       The Refugee Admission Program is suspended for 120 days, and will in the future give priority based on religion of the individuals if they are a religious minority in their country of persecution;

-       Screening procedures for all immigration programs is to be made uniform;

-       Refugees permitted to the U.S. in 2017 reduced from 110,000 to 50,000;

-       Order agencies to seek assistance of foreign governments in screening visa applicants and to provide the President with a list of counties that do not cooperate with the U.S.;

-       Order inter-agency cooperation and standardization of immigration screening procedures between various departments (DHS, State, NSA, FBI);

-       Implementation of a biometric exit and entry system to the U.S.; and

-       Require interviews for all U.S. visas (visa drop-box / visa waiver programs are suspended);